Chocolate and marshmallow cupcakes

I baked up a batch of treats this afternoon while I was waiting for another cake project to finish baking. I recently got myself a blow torch (haha, you can’t really say that casually without sounding crazy). Now, most people would automatically think to use it for creme brulee, but my first thought was marshmallows! I love semi melted marshmallows on a bonfire…omnomnom.

So seeing as I had a little extra time, I mixed up a batch of chocolate cupcakes and reached for my bag of marshmallows…

Image

I melted some butter in a pan (around a tablespoon) and tipped in a load of mini marshmallows. I slowly heated them until they all melted, and took it off the heat. I mixed in a small amount of icing sugar to thicken it up again. Then…I had to be patient. Wait until it is much more set, put it into a piping bag with a round open tip and pipe a small amount on top of the cooled cupcakes. Wait for it to settle a little.

Then my favourite part….BLOW TORCH! Honest, I’m not a pyromanic 😀
Gently move the torch over the top of the marshmallow, gently singeing the sugar on top. Be careful not to set the cupcake case alight!! Of course, I’m not speaking from experience… 😉

Happy sunday 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

