The day we visit Southampton…

Today myself and Mr CC are off to Southampton to visit family. We decided that because the weather is horrendously hot today, we are going to set off after the midday heat. I so hope this decision pays off! So as I had a few hours this morning to lounge about and not worry about anything (woo hoo!), I decided to bake up a little treat for the little’uns that we will be visiting. I knew I wanted to bake something biscuity, but took ages to decide on what. Plus, I had no icing sugar or cornflour…so that slightly limited my options.

Then I thought…what biscuit did I used to LOVE when I was their age… *lightbulb moment*

Bourbons

ImageAnd then there were bourbons. Chocolatey and oozing chocolate ganache in the middle. OM.

The main recipe is:

50g butter, 50g caster sugar, 110g flour, 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda, 15g cocoa powder, 1 tbsp golden syrup.

Preheat oven to 180 degrees.
Mix the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy.
Stir in the golden syrup.
Sift in the dry ingredients, and mix until fully combined. This should be a slightly firm dough.
Roll dough out on a slightly floured surface, to around a pound coin or slightly less thickness.
Cut into strips in equal length and width to form what looks like the traditional bourbon shapes (you may only get two strips at a time and need to re-mould and roll).
Place onto baking tray and use a fork to prick a few times on top.
Bake for around 13-15 minutes, until darkened and remove from oven.
Put biscuits onto a cooling rack to cool for around 10 minutes.

Now the filling is totally up to you. Because I had a lack of icing sugar, I couldn’t make a buttercream, but a ganache works too. Perhaps even a bit fancier 😉

Either traditional filling recipe will work well.

I remember when I was little I could almost demolish a whole packet of these bad boys all to myself. If I didn’t get hunted down first. Hehe.

Anyway, I’ll wrap things up here, as I’ve got to finish packing. Have a lovely sunny day everyone! x

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

