The day of reflection…

Today I’ve been thinking a lot about my journey since moving back home to where I am today. I think this came about after the realisation of how little time I’ve actually been running Chatter Cakes. Officially I started the company in November 2011…so that make it just over half a year old! It really does feel like a lot longer. I suppose thats why sometimes I get frustrated that I’m not further along the line, with more of a reputation. Alas, I need to remember its still very early days and I think I’m doing pretty well to be where I am only 6 months down the line.

I remember the exact cake that made me want to peruse this career. Now, I know several of you may know this cake, but for the rest of you who don’t…don’t laugh!!

Image

At the time I was dead chuffed with this…and in a way I still love it. The chocolate mice more than anything! It was for my grandmother’s birthday (nicknamed ‘dormouse’), and I remember that she loved it. That feeling of making someone such a personal gift, with a lot of love put into it, made me realise how much I wanted to do this properly. So I practised and practised. And loved it more and more each time.

And here I am today, making 4 tier wedding cakes and making even more people happy. So I’m happy.

I’ve had a really really difficult few years before Chatter Cakes started, and I really struggled. I know for sure that baking and cake decorating ‘saved me’ (yes cheesy I know, but very true). It gave me something to focus on, and I honestly miss it any day that I don’t create something. I just hope that Chatter Cakes will still be going in years to come πŸ™‚

I think of more and more designs everyday that I justΒ so want to make. As I say to all my clients – there are endless things you can do with cake. I see it as an art form, and of all the different arts I’ve done in the past – from photography to card making – its my favourite!Β 

Anyway, I’ll stop gushing about my love for my job. Soppy haha!Β 
Although I’ve been baking today, I didn’t have time to take photos. I’ve got a lovely cake due on saturday, which I will show photos of then. I’ve also got a bake up my sleeve (not literally) for tomorrow πŸ™‚

Night all xΒ 

4 thoughts on “The day of reflection…

  1. Bob says:

    Congratulations Tess. The early months of any business are the hardest (and the most fun!) and I’m so pleased your hard work is paying off. Love the blog, love the cakes.

  2. Louise Young says:

    I’m so Happy for you and i will def keep you in mind next time i need a cake! πŸ™‚ so glad uve landed on your feet πŸ™‚ xx

Leave a Reply

