The day that I couldn’t resist baking…

Today is finally my DAY OFF!! Yay! I’ve definitely needed one 🙂

I had a lovely double cake party last night. A lot of information being thrown about, with two very different wedding cakes, but it was a fun night and lovely to meet all their family and very adorable pets haha. Plus they asked for some wonderful flavours for tasting, so it was a great day of cake prep for it. I can’t wait til next year when I can make their cakes for their big days.

So I started the day today willing myself to really rest, as I had exhausted myself. I told myself not to bake. Rest, Tess…REST.

…I baked 😀

I don’t know why, but an idea popped into my head of making a carrot and maple syrup flapjack, a.k.a. Carrot Cake Flapjack. So I made up a recipe and it was baked…

‘Carrot cake’ flapjack

Image

Not the best photo, as I didn’t have much light to work with, but its honestly yum!

225g butter, 225g Demerara sugar, 275g oats, 50g golden syrup, 30g maple syrup, 1 large carrot, zest of 1 orange, sprinkle of sultanas, a tiny pinch of ground cinnamon.

Preheat oven to 160 degrees, and prep a 10×8 or similar tin with baking paper. Melt the butter, sugar and syrup together in a pan until they all combine. Pour liquid mixture over the oats, and one by one add each of the other ingredients until thoroughly combined. Spoon mixture into prepared tin and smooth into each corner. Drizzle a tiny amount of maple syrup over the top and put into the oven for 35 minutes or until lightly golden 🙂

Om nom nom nom.

So I’ve got a nice day of baking tomorrow, with one of my new friends. Another cake party on tuesday evening. Then a few days of prep for the York House Hotel wedding fayre – Eastbourne – on sunday 🙂

Have a nice night everyone x

One thought on “The day that I couldn’t resist baking…

  1. Trish says:

    I think we both are addicted to our passion……xx

Leave a Reply

