Apple puff puddings and updatingness

I’m having a relaxing afternoon, catching up on some paperwork and quotation sheets, so I thought I’d do a mini update for you all! Where to begin…

I’ve had quite a few cake parties lately, and they’ve been so lovely! Plus, quite a few of them have been in my lovely Chatter Box, which is always brilliant because it allows me to take care of the couples (and family) and have everything ready for them, unlike when I visit their homes. I love either way, but its always handy to be armed with all my examples and give them an idea of the process I go through to make their cake.

I’ve got to say…I’m already missing wedding fairs! I don’t have another one until the first weekend of January, which isn’t too far off, but it feels like SUCH a long time. I miss chatting away to couples, meeting other suppliers and having a giggle. Come on January!!

On another note, I have a little bit of cool news to show you guys. I have just been featured in Your Sussex Wedding magazine (on sale at the end of this month I think) as one of their experts :) they just sent through a pdf of what it will look like. Luckily I haven’t seen my headshot yet, but that will be a laugh when I get it in the post!

Image

So thats pretty nifty :)

Ooh and I have bought a few new bits n pieces for some dessert tables ;) I’ll show them off soon.

Last but not least, I have a little recipe for you guys if you need a quick and easy pud to keep you warm!

Apple and cinnamon puff pud

For 2-3 people

1 packet of ready-roll puff pastry
2 apples
1/2 tsp cinnamon
pinch of nutmeg
3 tsp brown sugar

1) Put oven on to 200 degrees.
2) Peel and chop up your apples into small chunks and pop into a saucepan.
3) Add the sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg into this mix, and put onto a medium heat.
4) Cook for a few minutes until just starting to soften, then take off the heat.
5) Unroll your pastry, and with a round/square pastry or cookie cutter, gently mark (not cut!) out 3 (or more if you want them smaller) shapes in a row. This should be so you have them all on one side, and have enough pastry opposite to fold over these shapes that will have your apple in.
6) Place a medium amount of your apple mixture into the centre of these shapes, but don’t over-fill them, as it needs to be similar to ravioli – enough space to seal around the filling.
7) Fold the non-marked pastry over your piles of apple so they are totally covered.
8) With the same size cutter you used before, ensuring there is enough pastry around your filling, cut out your ‘ravioli’ like pudding. With a fork, gently seal the pastry around the sides by pressing down repeatedly on the edge, pushing the two sheets of pastry together.
9) Cut a small ‘x’ into the top of your pastry to allow steam out throughout cooking, and pop them onto a baking tray. Sprinkle a little brown sugar on top of each.
10) Cook for around 15-20 minutes until golden brown, and remove from the oven. Leave to cool a little, then EAT!

Sorry I don’t have a photo for this recipe – they all got eaten too fast! Hope the recipe makes sense :)

x

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Apple puff puddings and updatingness

  1. photomadly says:

    Congratulations on getting featured in the magazine – exciting to see your stuff in print! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

